Belagavi: The one-day, All India Inter University Cross Country Championship witnessed an excellent show of strength by young athletes came up with stellar performances to win medals in various categories. Some of the noted cross country runners from a different university from across the country features in the mega event in Belagavi on Monday.Ranjeeth Kumar of the Punjab University of Chandigarh and Sanjivani Jadhav of the Savitribai Phule University of Pune emerged individual champions in men and women’s section in the All India Inter-University Cross Country Championship organised by Visveswaraya Technological University in Belagavi on Monday. Ranjeeth Kumar clocked 0:33:14 to finish the race on top while Sanjivani finished the race with a timing of 0:37:29. Mangalore University bagged the overall team championship followed by the Punjab University of Patiala in the second spot.Tadvi Kisan of the Savitribai Phule University of Pune and Ranjit Kumar Patil of Mangalore University finished the men’s race at a second and third spot. In the women’s section, Varsha Devi of Kurukshetra University and Dimple Singh of the Deen Dayal Upadhyay University of Gorakhpur completed the race on second and third spots. Mangalore University bagged the men’s team championship with highest points in the tally, while Punjab University, Chandigarh came second, Punjab University of Patiala third, M D University of Rohtak fourth, Kurukshetra University fifth and Savitribai Phule University stood sixth.

In the women’s team championship, Deen Dayal Upadhyay University stood first followed by Mahatma Gandhi University Kottayam, Mangalore University, Punjab University of Patiala, University of Calicut and the Savitribai Phule University of Pune.