elagavi: Although, the election results threw up many surprises in 18 constituencies of Belagavi district, BJP has been able to win 10 seats while Congress eight.

The MES which once won five to six seats for many terms in the assembly elections suffered a virtual white wash this time. None of MES leaders could win from even Khanapur, Belagavi South and Nipani, which are their strongholds.

Unfortunate for BJP, Laxman Savadi and Raju Kage, two of their very popular and good leaders from Athani and Kagwad constituency respectively have failed to make it through. Freshers into state assembly now, Mahesh Kumatalli and Srimant Patil defeated Savadi and Kage respectively.BJP won two urban seats as Anil Benake and Abhay Patil emerged winners in Belagavi North and Belagavi South while Laxmi Hebbalkar of Congress won from Belagavi Rural.