Belagavi: Umesh Katti of Hukkeri has created a unique record of winning eight times as MLA. Although several leaders have won as legislators in Belagavi multiple times, Katti has won the highest number of times now.

He entered politics in 1985 after the death of his father Vishwanath Katti and won the first by-election as MLA the same year. Since then, the political heavyweight has never looked back. Although, he lost one election in 2004 against Shashikant Nayak of BJP, he won eight of the nine elections he faced so far since 1985. Katti was a member of Janata Dal parivar earlier and won the first three election as a JD candidate. He has been minister in the cabinets of several governments in the past.